

Town of Barnstable Waterways Committee

1189 Phinney's Lane, Centerville MA 02632 www.barnstable.ma.us



Waterways Committee Meeting June 24, 2014

A meeting of the Town of Barnstable Waterways Committee was held on June 24, 2014 at the Selectmen's Conference Room, 367 Main Street, Hyannis, MA. The meeting was called to order at 7:00 pm by Chairman Jack Meade.

Call to Order:

- Board Members present: Peter Cross, Robert Hazelton, Frederick Komenda and Chairman Jack Meade.
- Town Staff present: Derek Lawson Mooring Officer/Assistant Harbormaster

Meeting Minutes:

Held the minutes from May 27, 2014

Mooring Appeals:

1. Roger Tung - Lake Waquaquet	- Appeal Granted
2. Francis Soucie - Barnstable Harbor	 Appeal Granted

Old Business:

1. Discussion took place regarding developing an in-season boat storage plan on Town Property. This plan would define what vessels are allowed at Town Landings and Ways to Water. This topic will be discussed monthly and recommendations will be presented to the Town Manager once completed. Chairman Meade purposed an e-mail chain within the Waterways Committee Members to gather thoughts and information. Mooring Officer Lawson will reach out to other Towns to inquire if they have an similar issues/policies. Committee Member Cross also stated he would like to see that all Town Ways to Water are utilized.

Harbor Master Report:

1. Mooring Officer Lawson stated that 95.63% of 2013 mooring permits were renewed in 2014. Officer Lawson also stated that 30 moorings have been offered to folks on the Waiting List, only 2 have accepted. This process started in May and in previous years this process started in August. Addition discussion was had regarding the Waitlist process and how folks respond.

2. Mooring Officer Lawson stated Dredging Project in Lewis Bay and Hyannis Inner-Harbor will be complete on June 27th.

Adjournment:

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:53 pm

Respectfully submitted, Derek Lawson Assistant Harbor Master / Mooring Officer <u>Chairman:</u> John Meade

Committee Members: Frederick Komenda Paul Everson Robert Hazelton Peter Cross

Council Liaison: Frederick Chririgotis