APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE MEETING Town Council Conference Room

Councilor John Norman, Chair Councilor Philip Wallace Councilor Debra S Dagwan Councilor John G. Flores Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti

June 27, 2017 5:30pm

MEETING MINUTES

In attendance: Chair of Committee Councilor John Norman, Councilor Philip Wallace, Councilor John Flores, and Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti **ABSENT**: Councilor Debra Dagwan

I. BUSINESS:

<u>Golf Committee-</u> John Cookson, been golfing for 60 years, grew up outside of Boston; was on the Board of Directors at the King Country Club; has played at Captains in Brewster, Cranberry Valley, Bayberry Hills, and Falmouth Country Club. Hyannis and Barnstable have to keep up with their facilities to draw people to join and play in the club. Hope to contribute to this committee.

<u>Board Of Assessors-</u> Melvin Pauze, attended school in Boston; Graduated from Bentley School of Accounting and Finance; received an Associate's Degree in Accounting and went to Assessors School while serving as Brockton City Assessor; has been with the Barnstable Police Department for 18 years, volunteers in public service, and has assisted in typing the Police Citations for their files. Served 29 years in the military both Active and US Army Reserve, and retired as a Command Sergeant Major.

<u>Disability Commission</u>- Linda McKinney, grew up off Cape, owns a house on Cape Cod in Centerville; College Librarian mostly worked with nontraditional college students, also with handicapped, and emotionally disturbed students, much more aware in a personal perspective on what's needed to be available. Interested in advising consulting people ADA requirements; attended meetings, interested in this committee and thinks she can offer some ideas and very excited to get involved.

Zoning Board of Appeals- Hilda Haye, recently became a member of the Housing Committee wants to join the Zoning Board of Appeals to get more involved and help the Town of Barnstable in any way.

Renewable Energy Commission- Sheila Place, has worked in health care administration, now retired. Has found interest in environmental issue and renewable energy, currently involved with a Solar Energy projects; was involved with the change of plastic bags, 55 towns in Massachusetts have been changing from plastic bag to paper. Green Sanctuary Committee the Co-chair at the Barnstable Unitarian Church and environmentally focused group, which presents Community wide films and forums.

<u>Golf Committee</u>- Fred Parker, has been an Administrator in University settings; Professional Service Firm Administrator, managed at the New York Telephone Company and retired in 2002; moved to the Cape in 2010 to Cotuit. Very interested in Barnstable Golf and has been a club member for 7 years. Town Courses have a great and positive impact on seniors, juniors also a great tourist attraction. Have attended Golf meetings this year an interested in the Hyannis course renovation improve.

APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE MEETING Town Council Conference Room

Councilor John Norman, Chair Councilor Philip Wallace Councilor Debra S Dagwan Councilor John G. Flores Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti

June 27, 2017 5:30pm

MEETING MINUTES

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Chair of the Committee, Councilor John Norman asked for a motion to approve the meeting minutes and of May 16, 2017 with scriber correction. A motion was made by Councilor John Flores to accept the following the minutes from May 16, 2017; the motion was seconded by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti. All members present with the exception of the abstention voted in favor of accepting the meeting minutes from May 16, 2017, Phil Wallace abstained; wasn't present on May 16, 2017 meeting

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to recommend the following individuals to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor John G. Flores. All members present voted in favor of recommending to the full Council the following individuals to serve on the Town's Boards/ Commissions:

Golf Committee- John Cookson, Fred Parker

Disability Commission- Linda McKinney

Renewable Energy Commission- Sheila Place

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to accept the following reappointments to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor John G. Flores. All members present voted in favor of accepting the following reappointments:

Reappointments to Boards / Committees / Commissions: Hyannis Main Street Waterfront Historic District Commission: Taryn Thoman as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Brenda Mazzeo as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Paul Arnold as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Library Committee: Lois Cronin as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/18; Suzanne Kelly as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/18; Chrystal Lapine as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/18; Planning Board: Raymond Lang to a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Mary Barry as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Water Resource Advisory Commission: Lindsey Counsell as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Farley Lewis as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Casey Dannhauser as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20; Zoning Boards Of Appeals: Matthew Levesque as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20;

No motion was made for the reappointment member Raymond Lang on the Planning Board. No Motion was made to move Timothy Ferreira from alternate to full member on the Hyannis Main Street Waterfront Historic District.

Page 3 of 3

APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE MEETING Town Council Conference Room

Councilor John Norman, Chair Councilor Philip Wallace Councilor Debra S Dagwan Councilor John G. Flores Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti

June 27, 2017 5:30pm

MEETING MINUTES

Scribers Error on Water Resource Advisory Commission, change Commission to Committee on the Reappointments to Boards/Committees/ Commissions.

Discussion: Review of all Boards/Committees/Commissions.

NEXT MEETING: July 18, 2017

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business, and upon motion duly made by Chair of Committee John Norman and seconded by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti the Committee unanimously voted to adjourn at 7:00 pm.