Councilor John Norman, Chair Councilor Philip Wallace Councilor Debra S Dagwan Councilor John G. Flores Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti

August 15, 2017 5:30pm

## **MEETING MINUTES**

**In attendance**: Chair of Committee Councilor John Norman, Councilor Philip Wallace, Councilor John Flores, and Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti, Councilor Debra Dagwan. **ABSENT**: None

### I. BUSINESS:

<u>Youth Commission-</u> Sean Dowling, will be a junior this year at Barnstable High School, plays on the BHS football team; works at Wequaquet Lake Yacht Club and as a life guard on the Barnstable beaches. Has some ideas to help the school and students to get a better education. Wants to help students with certain issues that come up and help them have a voice.

**Planning Board-** Jeffrey Swartz, native of Cape Cod, been in business with the lodging industry and hotel/ restaurant industry for 20 years. Recently involved with the Cape Cod Young Professionals and the Community Leadership of Cape Cod; on the Board of Directors and Marketing Board with Yarmouth Chamber of Commerce. Took the Town of Barnstable Leadership course. Feels confident to be a contributing member on this committee.

<u>Human Services Committee</u>- Deborah Krau, has worked in the Town of Barnstable for years. Went to University of Massachusetts and received a BS Degree; attended Harvard University school of Public Health and received a MS Health Services Administration. Has been involved on multiple Town Committees; Town Council Committee on Homelessness, Greater Hyannis Civic Association, Hyannis supporting Our Youth, Hyannis Open Streets, Hyannis Water Board and Hyannis Fire District. Has attended Human Services Committees meetings, and would love to see how the committee moves forward with the issues we are facing.

<u>**Cultural Council</u>**- Lynne Belfiore, has lived on the Cape since 1979, enjoyed a full time teaching job, retired from the job 4 years ago after 47 years of teaching; taught 2nd-3rd graders. Was involved with the Town Meeting Member before the form of government changed representing Precinct 3, worked with Cape Cod child Development and was on the Board of Directors for few years, currently the Director of Christian Ed, at the Cotuit Federal Church in Cotuit.</u>

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** Chair of the Committee, John Norman as for a motion to approve the meeting minutes of June 27, 2017; Councilor John G. Flores made the motion to approve the meeting minutes of June 27, 2017; the motion was seconded by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti. All members present with the exception of Councilor Debra Dagwan abstained. The Committee members presented voted in favor of accepting the meeting minutes of June 27, 2017 as written.

Councilor John Norman, Chair Councilor Philip Wallace Councilor Debra S Dagwan Councilor John G. Flores Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti

August 15, 2017 5:30pm

# **MEETING MINUTES**

### Nominate the following members to serve on the Boards/Committees/Commissions

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to recommend the following individual to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this motion was seconded by Councilor Philip Wallace. All members present voted in favor of recommending to the full Council the following individual to serve on the Town's Boards/ Committees/ Commissions:

#### Youth Commission- Sean Dowling

A motion was made by Councilor John G. Flores to recommend the following individual to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor Philip Wallace. All members present voted in favor of recommending to the full Council the following individual to serve on the Town's Boards/ Committees/ Commissions:

#### Planning Board- Jeffrey Swartz

A motion was made by Councilor Debra Dagwan to recommend the following individual to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor John G. Flores. All members present voted in favor of recommending to the full Council the following individual to serve on the Town's Boards/Committees/ Commissions:

#### Human Services Committee- Deborah Krau

A motion was made by Councilor John G. Flores to recommend the following individual to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor Philip Wallace. All members present voted in favor of recommending to the full Council the following individual to serve on the Town's Boards/ Committees/ Commissions:

## Cultural Council- Lynne Belfiore

Councilor John Norman, Chair Councilor Philip Wallace Councilor Debra S Dagwan Councilor John G. Flores Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti

August 15, 2017 5:30pm MEETING MINUTES

### **Reappointments to Boards / Committees / Commissions: Reappointed Members**

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to reappointed the following members to a Board/Committee/Commission; this motion was seconded by Councilor John G. Flores. All members present voted in favor of accepting the following reappointments:

Community Preservation Committee: Terry Duenas as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20;

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to accept the following reappointed member to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor Philip Wallace. All members present voted in favor of accepting the following reappointments:

**Comprehensive Financial Advisory Committee:** Ralph Krau a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20;

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to accept the following reappointed member to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor Philip Wallace. All members present voted in favor of accepting the following reappointments:

Library Committee: Lili Seely as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/18;

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to accept the following reappointed member to Boards/Committees/Commissions; this was seconded by Councilor John G. Flores. All members present voted in favor of accepting the following reappointments:

Zoning Board of Appeals: David Hirsch as a regular member to a term expiring 6/30/20;

#### Resignation

A motion was made by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti to accept the following resigned member; this was seconded by Councilor John G. Flores. All members present voted in favor of accepting the following resignations:

**Resignation:** Council on Aging - **Taylor Cobb**, Human Services Committee - **Christopher McMillan** Airport Commission- **Robert O'Brien**.

Councilor John Norman, Chair Councilor Philip Wallace Councilor Debra S Dagwan Councilor John G. Flores Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti

August 15, 2017 5:30pm

### **MEETING MINUTES**

Discussion: Review of all Boards/Committees/Commissions.

Renewable Energy Commission- the next Appointments Committee meeting in September we will vote on to reduce the members 9-7. Inform with Eric Steinhilber the Town Council President of certain changes in the Boards/Committees/Commissions coming up.

NEXT MEETING: September 19, 2017

**ADJOURNMENT:** There being no further business, and upon motion duly made by Chair of Committee John Norman and seconded by Councilor Jessica Rapp Grassetti the Committee unanimously voted to adjourn at 7:00 pm.